The Droitwich Spa Heritage and Information Centre is housed on the former Brine Baths site, which was first established in the 1880’s.
The present black and white building, known as St. Richard’s House, dates from the 1930’s and consists of a very friendly and welcoming Tourist Information Centre, a fascinating permanent local history exhibition, BBC radio room and has a small but comprehensive range of brass rubbing plates.
The Tourist Information Centre offers a warm welcome to visitors and provides a wide selection of free literature allowing visitors to “discover” places to visit in and around Droitwich Spa and in the beautiful Worcestershire countryside. A range of souvenirs can be purchased along with numerous local history books.
The permanent exhibition shows the fascinating story of the town from pre-Roman times to modern day. Excavations in the town have revealed much about early Droitwich and its salt industry; many of these remains are in excellent condition. Reconstructed faces from Roman skulls reveal some incredible facts about their lifestyles and their appearance.
The salt industry is traced, using displays and many old photographs, through Roman, Saxon and Medieval periods and finally the Victorian era of the “Salt King”, John Corbett is studied with audio-visual display which depicts the harsh reality of working in hot, steamy conditions in the salt works.
T: 01905 774312
Victoria Square, Droitwich Spa, Droitwich, Worcestershire WR9 8DS, UK
Further Information >>